Song of the Day: 10/09/09

My family and I have an unspoken tradition of watching Grey’s Anatomy every Thursday evening during the Fall season.  Sometimes we watch it in different rooms–sometimes at different periods throughout the night.  But, one way or another we will have always seen it before our heads hit the pillow and our eyes close a final time before the morning.

It’s the only television show that unites us.  It’s the only thing we look forward to during the week as a family–other than Jason’s Deli night on Saturday.  Sad, but true.  Whatever pulls us together, away from the stressors and responsibilities of our daliy lives, whatever gets us all under the same roof by 8 o’clock–is a blessing in disguise.

It’s a good little show.

And it’s a good little show with a lot of good music to go along with it.

Last night was no exception.  One song in particular caught my ear, and dragged me by it’s grief-stricken lyrics to the computer to google up who sang it and how can I get my little paws on it as soon as possible.  The answer:  Katie Herzig.

Coincidentally, I have actually seen her perform live before when I went to the Brandi Carlile symphony show in Spokane, Washington.  She opened up for BCB–and was adorable as all get out, but I do not remember being overwhelmed by her awesomeness that night.  Granted, we were tired as HELL after traveling literally all day to get there in time.  We had been up for over twenty-eight hours at that point with not a moment of sleep and were EXHAUSTED.  So, it was not optimum new music time.  All I remember was thinking that, “Well, she seems like a really sweet person and is extremely good looking, but her music is not for me.”  And then I proceeded to scan the ceiling of the old theater for shapes and objects–like I would with the clouds in the sky on a beautiful sunny afternoon.

But, apparently girls’ got some mad skillz.  This song is brilliant.  I love it.  I want to marry it.  And it hits so close to home it hurts.

Enjoy:  Katie Herzig: Wish You Well

and the other night with Brandi Carlile and the boys

I, I want to wish you well
I didn’t watch you go
Cause I suppose I don’t know how
I, I will remember you
Not the way you left but how you lived
And what you knew

I, I want to feel your hands
I want to feel your fire burning
Right from where I stand

I’ll find my way
Cause you showed me how

I, I want toknow it’s you
When I hear your voice inside my head
Inside my room
I, want to touch the sky
I want to see the stars twinkle
Like they were your eyes

I’ll find my way
You showed me
I’ll find my way
Cause you showed me how

I, I want to smell your scent
I want to breathe the air I did before
Before you left

I, I want to wish you well
The only reason my heart beats
Is cause you showed it how

I’ll find my way
You show me
I’ll find my way
You show me
I’ll find my way
Cause you showed me how
You show me how
You showed me how


About littlelostsunny

Lost inside her mind. Inspired to blog because if not the thoughts start to control my life. I needed an outlet.

Posted on October 9, 2009, in Song of the Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. all the nudie pics overshadow the song. ;(

    Like

  2. much better this time. 😉

    Like

  3. you might like it even better now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

