Cliff’s Notes for Sunny’s Posts

So, you are probably wondering why the fuck I have been posting a shit ton of fashion/decor blogs. They had no original text, very succinct in that manner, and yet were long and intricate visually.

Well, I initially wanted to just scour Target’s website for some interesting or cool stuff–something that I would want to buy if I had monies. And then–I wanted to peruse Walmart’s site too… and well the natural progression of things unfolded after that. Cheap versus Expensive (really expensive)

And I learned a few things along the way. As I tend to do. First of all–never shop at Walmart. And if you do… please stay away from the online store it is really awful and headache inducing. It was not helpful at all for me to compare items and prices. I really hated it. However, they are honestly cheap as hell… I didn’t see hardly any actual clothing items that cost more than about 15 bucks. Insane. The Canopy brand of interior decor actually had some pretty decent looking shit.

Kohls surprised me with their clothing lines and home accessorizing inventory. I was pleased. They had some rather trendy items there. They, too, were very well priced–and their website was extremely handy and well categorized! I’ve still only been into a Kohls one time. But, their online store did not scare me off.

Target was of course awesome. But, I have to say that it’s not as cheap as I like to believe. Most of the clothes and furniture was actually averagely priced.

And yeah, the fancy schmany places blew my mind. Pottery Barn is still my favorite–although Restoration Hardware would be right up some individuals’ alley. Just not mine. I appreciate what they do–I love the IDEA of reclaimed wood and real tool chests being used in unique ways. But, it does not fit into my particular design aesthetic–although they certainly have some very beautiful things… especially their distressed leather couches!

I’m pretty boring when it comes to what I like in a home. I like bleakness when it comes to color choices. I’m not a fan of anything too bold–or bold at all. I gravitate towards khakis/beiges, black, white–neutral tones. But, when I need a splash of color I go with certain grayish shades of blue–or maybe some sage green. Color is ok, but only as accent pieces–like pillows. Heh.

And yeah–clearly I love nature inspired art. I adore trees, I love silhouettes, I really dig paisley patterns and pastel stripes. I’m pretty simplistic. I don’t want anything over designed or cluttered. I prefer the opposite of what the mess inside my brain looks like. I have a very overactive, vivid imagination full of chaos, bright colors, and disarray. So, in my home I like a feeling of serenity and peace with as much natural elements injected as possible. Birds, trees and soothing colors. Yes please.

Furniture wise, I’m a fan of clean lines. I’m not overly enthusiastic about curves, arches, creative unique flourishes. Psh. Occasionally I will find a pedestal table to be cute. But, when push comes to shove I’m more apt to go with rectangular shapes and patterns. And most furniture I would prefer being black or espresso in color. However, sometimes I stumble upon a white piece that just makes me smile inside. So, yeah know. I’m sort of versatile in that area, but not really.

I’m trying to learn though. I watch a lot of home design shows (HGTV I bow to thee) and like to think that I am maturing in my decor choices. I’m figuring out what I like and what I don’t like. And then documenting it on here.

Anyways. It’s nap time. Peace.

About littlelostsunny

Lost inside her mind. Inspired to blog because if not the thoughts start to control my life. I needed an outlet.

Posted on October 5, 2009, in Randoms. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

