Film Snob

I was a film minor at A&M.  I was good, if not great, at my film classes.  If I’m passionate about something then you can bet your ass that I will excel at that particular area of devotion.   I’m a little obsessive, yes, but if that leads to my conquering and exceeding expectations in a field of study–then whatever…..bring on the OCD.

So, film was what it was all about for a significant chunk of my life.  I buried my nose in books on cinema, learned how to write critical reviews based on objectivity, and became an incredible scholar on the history of film.  I was kind of geek.

And now that dedication has tapered off and remanifested itself as my being just a fan of good quality cinema rather than analyzing a movie for its mis-en-scene or versamilitude.

I’m not so much a slave to the studio powerhouses anymore.  I go to few films in the theater because of my inability to sit still for 2 hours coupled with the empty pocketbook.  Movies are expensive y’all.

But, I might have caught the movie bug again–just a minor case.  It shall pass. In the meantime–here are the films I’m most stoked about hitting the silver screen this year.

1. The Lovely Bones:  I read this book several years ago in literally a day.  I was entranced, enthralled, enthused, etc.  I dug it.  Some people hate it.  I did not.  To quote my mom, “It was pretty swift.”

http://josoandsew.files.wordpress.com/2009/06/lovelybones.jpg

2. Shutter Island:  Dude.  Martin Scorsese.  Leonardo DiCaprio. Mark Ruffalo, Ben Kingsley, Michelle Williams, Max von Sydow, Patricia Clarkson, Emily Mortimer and Jackie Earle Haley.  Slasher/Thriller flick.  Need I say more?  No.

https://i2.wp.com/www.horreur.net/img/ShutterIslandPoster_aff.jpg

3.  Nine:  There are so many movies out with the number nine.  There was District 9 and then there was 9 and then there will be Nine.   This one intrigues me because it’s directed by the dude who did “Chicago.”  And not only that… NOT ONLY THAT, but Daniel Day-Lewis is in it.  I would see absolutely anything that man decides is worthy of his precious time and energy.  Plus Nicole Kidman is in it.  Honestly, I don’t need more info than that.

4. The Road:  Based on the book of the same name.  You know you’ve either read it already or at the very least heard of it.  It was an important novel.  And still is.  Charlize Theron, Viggo Mortensen, Robert Duvall, Guy Pearce… good cast.  Cool plot.  The trailer makes me uncomfortable.  But, I’d like to see it. For sure.

5. The Invention of Lying:  This one looks pretty damn funny.  Ricky Gervais is just right up my alley in terms of humor.  I love him.  And Jen Garner, Rob Lowe, Tina Fey and Jonah Hill are all in this one as well.  So, it’s definitely worth a shot, eh?

https://i1.wp.com/www.iwatchstuff.com/2009/07/14/invention-of-lying-quad.jpg

6.  Up in the Air:  Directed by the dude that did “Thank you for Smoking” and “Juno” this film has some significant talent involved.  George Clooney, Jason Bateman, Melanie Lynskey and Vera Farmiga.  Got a big ole’ king-sized crush on Vera.  So, I’d see this regardless of its suckage factor.

https://i1.wp.com/www.filmofilia.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/08/upintheair-poster.jpg

7. Amelia:  Looks like a big ole beautiful biopic.  Hillary Swank IS a good actress even if I don’t like her all that much.  It also has Ewan McGregor and Richard Gere and it’s about a subject matter (Amelia Earheart) who is an important woman figure in America.  So, fo’ sho’ I’ll see this.

https://i2.wp.com/www.filmofilia.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/08/amelia_poster_00_m.jpg

8.  Men Who Stare at Goats:  This looks like some crazy sort of dark comedy.  I love that kind of film.  It has Ewan McGregor, “The Dude” Jeff Bridges, George Clooney, Kevin Spacey, etc.  SAHWEET!

9. Brothers:  This one has a drool-worthy cast and a saptacular/dramatic trailer.  Natalie Portman, Tobey Maguire, Jake Gylenhaa and is directed by JIM FREAKING SHERIDAN!  LOVE HIM!

https://i2.wp.com/www.iwatchstuff.com/2009/07/10/brothers-poster.jpg

10. Everybody’s Fine:  Robert DeNiro, Drew Barrymore.   It is probably not going to be GREAT, and the voiceover of the trailer surely sucks, but I like family films sometimes.  What can I say?

About littlelostsunny

Lost inside her mind. Inspired to blog because if not the thoughts start to control my life. I needed an outlet.

Posted on September 23, 2009, in Randoms, The coolest shit evah. and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. mcarteratthemovies

    Three cheers for “Shutter Island”! I can’t think of another movie I’m more excited to see. As far as I’m concerned, the cast is perfect — you mean I get Leonardo DiCaprio, Mark Ruffalo AND Jackie Earle Haley in one movie? — and I can’t wait to see what Scorcese will do with Lehane’s awesome book. Scorcese hasn’t really tackled the mindgame horror-thriller genre yet, but with Lehane as an exec producer the movie simply cannot be bad.

    M. Carter @ the Movies
    http://mcarteratthemovies.wordpress.com/

    Like

  2. Yeah, you know I’ve been slacking at my movie trailer watching recently. So, with the exception of “The Road” which was attached to “Inglourious Basterds,” I hadn’t seen ANY of those trailers til today. And Shutter Island looks fucking rad. It’s such a stretch for me to think of Scorsese doing a movie like this, but hell, if anyone can do it…he can!
    I have not read the book–and I assume that’s a good thing for ensuring my enjoyment of the film.
    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

