Song of the Day: 09/08/09

So, Jim Ward, a Texan, a singer, a friend of Tegan–and thus a friend of mine, composed today’s song. It’s called “Broken Songs,” and it is far and away one of my favorites of recent memory. Why? Well, it’s raw. It’s imperfect. It’s gritty. It’s gravely and just seems real. I don’t know quite what the lyrics mean. They don’t strike me as profound or overly insightful or sophisticated. There aren’t actually too many lyrics there! It’s more about the rhythm, the repetition, and the vocals. Tegan does something interesting with her voice here. There are overlays of her voice as it is with Tegan & Sara, you know the one, high, robotic and manufactured, and then there is her deeper more authentic and emotional (perhaps more untrained) voice. She utilizes both here and I really dig it. It’s a good tune and I’ve been hooked for months. Enjoy.

Oh–and if the name Jim Ward sounds familiar to you, it probably is: He’s the frontman for the bands At the Drive In and Sparta.

I’m not too comfortable to fall from the start
Well, I don’t find success interesting as art
But I’ll build a home
In these broken songs
Like you said I should
Like you understood

I’m not too comfortable to fall from the start
When it gets too intimate, then I fall apart
And I carry on
Singing broken songs
Like you said I should
Like you understood

But I’ll build a home
In these broken songs
Like you said I should
Like you understood

About littlelostsunny

Lost inside her mind. Inspired to blog because if not the thoughts start to control my life. I needed an outlet.

Posted on September 8, 2009, in Song of the Day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

