You don’t need a Weatherman to know which way the wind blows.

I remember once imagining what my life would be like, what I’d be like. I pictured having all these qualities, strong positive qualities that people could pick up on from across the room. But as time passed, few ever became any qualities that I actually had. And all the possibilities I faced and the sorts of people I could be, all of them got reduced every year to fewer and fewer. Until finally they got reduced to one, to who I am. And that’s who I am, the weather man.

One of my favorite movies of all time is “The Weather Man.”  I feel that not too many support my views on this particular film’s merits.  It sort of came and went in theaters not generating too much buzz of any size, shape or form.  I believe that it’s because it’s depressing as fuck.  People don’t typically want to rush to a theater to watch the protagonist fail miserably at everything he attempts.  It’s painful to watch at times, it truly is.  Time after time shit things are happening to this guy, who is kind of a dick but only due to environmental factors and other such circumstances, and yet you are pulling for it to all turn around.  And just as things look up for Dave, played by Nic Cage, it all backfires and he comes out worse than before.

It’s a dark dark dark bleak bleak bleak comedy.  I laugh my ass off while watching it, but the same time my heart is aching.  I think it’s intensified by the fact that I see so much of myself in this character.  We both try to do right.  We both try to support those we love.  We want to be cared for and respected.  We know that we are meant for better things, but just could not seem to grab hold of them long enough to enjoy them.  We just go through life trying to survive, holding on to a sliver of optimism that things will turn around, always attempting to impress those who we look up to.

I remember seeing this film in theaters.  I will always remember and cherish the moment–it was one of the very few times my sister and I went out and did something together during the year or two we lived together as adults.  We both truly dug the movie.   But for me, personally, it affected me long after we pulled our feet off of the sticky coke coated floors of the theater.  I couldn’t stop thinking about it for weeks after my first viewing.  The synthesized soundtrack, the stark frigid atmosphere captured beautifully by the cinematographer, the way you can almost  FEEL the bitter cold brushing up against your cheek from the imagery on the screen, the acting that is at once unrealistic and yet still feels seeped in mis-en-scene.  The dialogue itself is punchy, clever and flowing.  There are quite a few quotes that you will want to pocket and recite to yourself when you need a laugh or a bit of sound advice.

I realize that a lot of people watch a movie to escape reality.  They don’t want to be depressed as a form of entertainment.  But, for those that can appreciate a movie as a work of art–a work of fiction.  And that can appreciate Nic Cage calling his ex-wife’s fiance a dildo, pork fuck.  Then perhaps you will enjoy it.

And for those who don’t enjoy anything but popcorn flicks–well it’s directed by the guy that did Pirates of the Caribbean! ZOMG!  FOR REALZ! JOHNNY DEPP! SQUEEEEE!

About littlelostsunny

Lost inside her mind. Inspired to blog because if not the thoughts start to control my life. I needed an outlet.

Posted on September 7, 2009, in The coolest shit evah. and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

