Song of the Day (fo’ realz) 08/26/09

So, I’ve been on a Metric kick recently.  When I was in my friend’s car this song “Help I’m Alive” kept coming on her XM radio.  And it quickly grew from being nothing more than white noise to my anthem.  The infectious chorus as repetitive as it is escapes my lips every fifteen minutes or so.  It’s clearly on repeat in my mind.  And that’s how I am with all music.  I listen to it over and over and over (and over X a bajillionmillion) until it has run its course and then I move on to the next song to annihilate with my obsessiveness.

This is my current favorite by them:

Metric: Gimme Sympathy

Get hot
Get too close to the flame
Wild open space
Talk like an open book
Sign me up
Got no time to take a picture
I’ll remember someday
All the chances we took

We’re so close to something better left unknown
We’re so close to something better left unknown

I can feel it in my bones
Gimme sympathy
After all this is gone
Who would you rather be
The Beatles or The Rolling Stones?
Oh seriously
You’re gonna make mistakes you’re young
Come on baby play me something,
Like here comes the sun

Don’t go
Stay with the all unknown
Stay away from the hooks
All the chances we took

We’re so close to something better left unknown
We’re so close to something better left unknown

I can feel it in my bones
Gimme sympathy
After all this is gone
Who would you rather be
The Beatles or The Rolling Stones?
Oh seriously
You’re gonna make mistakes you’re young
Come on baby play me something,
Like here comes the sun

—–

Oh, and I’d be doing the world a disservice without posting pictures of Emily Haines of Metric–’cause she is smokin’ hot!

I think I’ve got me a little crush on this here lady.  She reminds me so much of Heather Armstrong of the blog Dooce.  I will write about her at a later time, but those close to me know that she has stolen my heart and keeps it in a jar with all the many other ladies of the world.  Damn her.

About littlelostsunny

Lost inside her mind. Inspired to blog because if not the thoughts start to control my life. I needed an outlet.

Posted on August 27, 2009, in Song of the Day and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

